1. Home
  2. AccessAlly
  3. User Management
  4. How to Merge Contacts While Preserving Their Site Permissions

How to Merge Contacts While Preserving Their Site Permissions

Dealing with duplicate contacts? Learn how to merge without losing their membership site permissions in the process.

When Merging a Contact May Be Necessary

If you

If you need to move any AccessAlly order from the to-be-deleted contact to the to-be-kept contact, please use our Modify Contact ID tool.

Infusionsoft/Keap

1. Enable Feature In AccessAlly

Log into your membership site and go to: AccessAlly > General Settings > Initial Setup > Additional Features.

Check the box in the Merge Contacts section.

screenshot of merge contacts setting in AccessAlly

2. Merge Contacts

Now, go to: AccessAlly > Manage Users > Merge Contacts.

Here, you can merge the contacts.

Merging via AccessAlly

This will both merge the contacts in Infusionsoft and sort out the user login / tags in AccessAlly.

For other CRMS:

For other CRMs, merging is a more manual process. In a nutshell, it involves:

  1. Moving all applicable tags from the to-be-deleted contact to the to-be-kept contact in the CRM
  2. Add the to-be-kept contact to any relevant automation / campaign
  3. Once that is done, you can just update the to-be-kept contact in AccessAlly, so all the tags are synced.

1. Give the “to be kept” user the proper permissions in your CRM

First, you need to make sure that the contact that will be preserved retains the right permission tags:

  • Convertkit and Drip: Manually add all the necessary tags to contact that will be kept.
  • Ontraport and ActiveCampaign: Your CRM has the ability to merge contacts. You’ll want to merge your contact and this will automatically merge the tags you need to keep.

2. Write down the Contact ID You’re Keeping

Now, document which Contact ID that you are keeping and the one that you’re not. You’ll need these later. (Here is how you locate a Contact ID)

3. Delete old Contact

In WordPress, delete the contact that you’re not keeping. (If your CRM doesn’t have a merge option, you should also delete the contact that you’re not keeping in the CRM as well).

4. Verify Contact ID for the “preserved” user

Verify that the User in WordPress has the right Contact ID
Go back to WordPress → Users → Then look up the user’s profile and make sure they have the correct Contact ID.

If it doesn’t match, delete the old contact ID and add the contact ID you have kept.

Make sure to save your changes.

5. Sync the User’s Orders

Lastly, you’ll want to make sure that any orders created by the contact are attributed to the correct contact ID. To do this you’ll use the Contact ID Order Updater Tool.

Updated on October 27, 2020

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

NO QUESTION GOES UNANSWERED

If you have any questions, we're just an email away.

We take your success seriously, and you'll always get a speedy reply from a real person during business hours.

Opt-In-Laptop.png

AccessAlly is the #1 WordPress Course and Membership Solution for Industry Leaders

WATCH THE DEMO

You'll get follow-up emails about AccessAlly and new features. Opt out anytime. Full privacy policy here.