1. Home
  2. AccessAlly
  3. Testing & Troubleshooting
  4. Issue: Redirect Loop Prevents Users From Accessing Content

Issue: Redirect Loop Prevents Users From Accessing Content

If your users are experiencing issues logging to the website and accessing the proper pages, there may be a redirect loop caused by improper page configurations.

If after looking over these instructions you’re still not solving the issue, get in touch with us and we’ll help you sort things out!

Check Your General Settings

Go to AccessAlly -> General Settings -> Special Pages and check to see if you have the right page selected after login.

Typically, the settings would be configured as follows:

Login Page

Make sure that you only have ONE login page created for your site, and that it uses the AccessAlly login widget or shortcode. Make sure that this page is available to the public, and not gated by AccessAlly’s tag permissions in any way.

Page after logging in (with original landing page)

This should always be set to “Original Landing Page”, unless you truly have a specific reason to send everyone somewhere else.

How this works is that if someone clicked on a link to a specific course or module page, they’ll be asked to login, and then after logging in they’ll be taken back to the original page they were trying to access.

Page after logging in (without original landing page)

This should be your dashboard or “main page” for logged in users. Make sure that there are no tags specified for this page, so that anyone who logs in can access it.

Insufficient Permission Page

This is often where sending people to your dashboard page or login page can create confusion, so if you haven’t created a page for insufficient permissions yet – please do so.

This page will show up if someone tries to access a module or course they don’t have the tags for – which means you should explain to them on this page why they’re seeing it. You can tell them that the page isn’t available to them, but that they can purchase access or return to the dashboard to see what they do have access to already.

Logout Page

By default we send people to the login page after they’ve logged out. But you could also send people somewhere else, like your main website or a new “You’ve been logged out page” – just to be super clear and not create more confusion for your members.

Updated on June 3, 2019

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

NO QUESTION GOES UNANSWERED

If you have any questions, we're just an email away at your@accessally.com.

We take your success seriously, and you'll always get a speedy reply from a real person during business hours.

AccessAlly is the #1 WordPress Course and Membership Solution for Industry Leaders

WATCH THE DEMO

You'll get follow-up emails about AccessAlly and new features. Opt out anytime. Full privacy policy here.