Using a different CRM? Check out the full list of revoke access automation tutorials here.
Why would you need to revoke access?
Revoking access to site content is a natural part of doing business, and might include any of the following scenarios:
- A client cancels their membership subscription
- A client’s payment card expires and cannot be charged for the next month’s subscription
- A course student cancels and requests a refund
- A client “downgrades,” and loses partial access to the content
While you could manually apply the Revoke Access tag to a user inside AccessAlly, we recommend automating the process as a part of building out your release CRM automation.
How the Revoke Access tag works
When you create your site content with AccessAlly’s Course Wizard, you’ll notice that a “Revoke Access” tag is automatically created in Step 2:
When the Revoke Access tag is applied to any of your clients, the corresponding access is negated. So even if a user has a “Affiliate Revoke Access” AND an “Affiliate Access” tag, they will not have access to the content.
How to Add a Revoke Access Tag to Your Drip Automation
The refund / revoke sequence will automatically remove the access to the course modules when triggered, as well as stopping any future modules from being released. The revoke automation is added at the end of the same release Workflow by creating a “Goal” step.
The trigger for the revoke sequence is “Applied a tag”. Select the Revoke Access tag. It is recommended to check the “Use this trigger as an entry point” option.
Add a new action and select “Send an HTTP Post”. Enter the URL found in your Course Integration Guide.
To revoke a client’s access to the course, please add the Revoke Access tag for the course.