1. Home
  2. AccessAlly
  3. CRM Automations
  4. Revoke Content Access Using an Infusionsoft Automation

Revoke Content Access Using an Infusionsoft Automation

We recommend that you include a “revoke access” automation inside your CRM for every piece of content you create on your site. This allows you to easily re-gate your content with minimal effort.

Using a different CRM? Check out the full list of revoke access automation tutorials here.

Why would you need to revoke access?

Revoking access to site content is a natural part of doing business, and might include any of the following scenarios:

  • A client cancels their membership subscription
  • A client’s payment card expires and cannot be charged for the next month’s subscription
  • A course student cancels and requests a refund
  • A client “downgrades,” and loses partial access to the content

While you could manually apply the Revoke Access tag to a user inside AccessAlly, we recommend automating the process as a part of building out your CRM automation.

How the Revoke Access tag works

When you create your site content with AccessAlly’s Course Wizard, you’ll notice that a “Revoke Access” tag is automatically created in Step 2:

Note:

When the Revoke Access tag is applied to any of your clients, the corresponding access is negated. So even if a user has a “Affiliate Revoke Access” AND an “Affiliate Access” tag, they will not have access to the content.

How to Add a Revoke Access Tag to Your Infusionsoft Automation

Open up the same campaign that you created to release access to the content.

In the main campaign view, create a Goal that is achieved when a Contact “Applies a Tag” and name the goal accordingly.

Configure the tag to be the Revoke tag set up for the course.

Drag-and-drop the “Sequence” element, link it to the goal, and name it accordingly.

Open the sequence, and drag-and-drop the “Send HTTP Post” process.

Note: the configuration is similar to Step 4, except rather than using the “aal_genpass” command, it uses “aal_updateuser”.

Toggle the process to “Ready”

Toggle the sequence from Draft to Ready when finished editing. This is what the completed sequence should look like.

Publish the campaign when done. Always test the campaign before making the course available for the public.

Updated on March 4, 2020

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

NO QUESTION GOES UNANSWERED

If you have any questions, we're just an email away.

We take your success seriously, and you'll always get a speedy reply from a real person during business hours.

Opt-In-Laptop.png

AccessAlly is the #1 WordPress Course and Membership Solution for Industry Leaders

WATCH THE DEMO

You'll get follow-up emails about AccessAlly and new features. Opt out anytime. Full privacy policy here.