Using a different CRM? Check out the full list of revoke access automation tutorials here.
Why would you need to revoke access?
Revoking access to site content is a natural part of doing business, and might include any of the following scenarios:
- A client cancels their membership subscription
- A client’s payment card expires and cannot be charged for the next month’s subscription
- A course student cancels and requests a refund
- A client “downgrades,” and loses partial access to the content
While you could manually apply the Revoke Access tag to a user inside AccessAlly, we recommend automating the process as a part of building out your releasenCRM automation.
How the Revoke Access tag works
When you create your site content with AccessAlly’s Course Wizard, you’ll notice that a “Revoke Access” tag is automatically created in Step 2:
When the Revoke Access tag is applied to any of your clients, the corresponding access is negated. So even if a user has a “Affiliate Revoke Access” AND an “Affiliate Access” tag, they will not have access to the content.
How to Add a Revoke Access Tag to Your ConvertKit Automation
Go to Automations in the main navigation menu. Open the Welcome automation.
At the end of the automation (right before END OF AUTOMATION), add a new item by clicking on the “+”.
Go to the Event section and choose Tag is added.
Choose the Revoke Access tag. Click on Add Event once configured.
Add a new item by clicking on the “+” and choose Add or remove tag.
Select the tag that will trigger the Create Login webhook. Click on Add Action once configured.
The revoke access portion of the automation will be triggered with the Revoke Access tag is added, and it will remove access to the course and notify AccessAlly of the change.
Add a new item by clicking on the “+” and choose a 5 minute delay.
Add a new item by clicking on the “+” and choose Add or remove tag. Please remove the tag that will trigger the Create Login webhook. (This way you can re-sync the user at another time, as needed)
Click on Add Action once configured.