1. Home
  2. AccessAlly
  3. CRM Automations
  4. Revoke Content Access Using an ActiveCampaign Automation

Revoke Content Access Using an ActiveCampaign Automation

We recommend that you include a “revoke access” automation inside your CRM for every piece of content you create on your site. This allows you to easily re-gate your content with minimal effort.

Using a different CRM? Check out the full list of revoke access automation tutorials here.

Why would you need to revoke access?

Revoking access to site content is a natural part of doing business, and might include any of the following scenarios:

  • A client cancels their membership subscription
  • A client’s payment card expires and cannot be charged for the next month’s subscription
  • A course student cancels and requests a refund
  • A client “downgrades,” and loses partial access to the content

While you could manually apply the Revoke Access tag to a user inside AccessAlly, we recommend automating the process as a part of building out your releasenCRM automation.

How the Revoke Access tag works

When you create your site content with AccessAlly’s Course Wizard, you’ll notice that a “Revoke Access” tag is automatically created in Step 2:

Note:

When the Revoke Access tag is applied to any of your clients, the corresponding access is negated. So even if a user has a “Affiliate Revoke Access” AND an “Affiliate Access” tag, they will not have access to the content.

How to Add a Revoke Access Tag to Your ActiveCampaign Automation

Go to Automations in the main navigation menu. Click on “Create an automation”.

Choose “Start from Scratch”, and then click “Create”.

The trigger for the revoke sequence is when “Tag is Added”.

Select the Revoke Access tag.

Add a new action and select “Webhook” in the “Conditions and Workflow” section. Please use the webhook as indicated in the Integration tab of the Course Wizard.

Give the Automation a name and switch it from “Inactive” to “Active”.

To revoke a client’s access to the course, please add the Revoke Access tag to the contact.

IMPORTANT: Remove User From Release Automation

The last step in your automation should be to REMOVE the user from the release automation for the course you are revoking access to. This is important in scenarios where the release automation would otherwise continue to send them emails (which would confuse someone who requested a cancellation and can no longer access course content).

Updated on March 4, 2020

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

NO QUESTION GOES UNANSWERED

If you have any questions, we're just an email away.

We take your success seriously, and you'll always get a speedy reply from a real person during business hours.

Opt-In-Laptop.png

AccessAlly is the #1 WordPress Course and Membership Solution for Industry Leaders

WATCH THE DEMO

You'll get follow-up emails about AccessAlly and new features. Opt out anytime. Full privacy policy here.