When a subscription is canceled, there are a series of actions that need to take place. (Future payments must be canceled, access should be revoked, etc.)
Whether you’re manually cancelling a subscription (through the Admin Options) or allow your users to self-cancel, it’s important to review all steps involved and create a “subscription cancellation” CRM automation where applicable.
What Happens When a Subscription Is Cancelled?
When a subscription is cancelled, there are two actions that absolutely must take place:
- All future charges to the client’s credit card must be cancelled/stopped
- The user’s access to site material must be revoked by applying the “Course_Revoke_Access” tag.
Fortunately, if you’ve set up your subscription properly inside AccessAlly > Products, this entire process can be automated with a single button click.
When you use the AccessAlly Course Wizard to create your Product automatically, you’ll see the pre-generated tags filled in for you.
Then AccessAlly can automatically revoke course access for the user whenever their subscription is cancelled.
How to Cancel A Subscription
Once it’s time to cancel the subscription, you have three options:
Option 1: Manually Cancel a Subscription via Admin Options
You can use AccessAlly’s Admin Options area. Please note that all of these options will automatically stop any future payments from being charged.
We cover these options in full in this tutorial, but here’s a quick recap on what tags are added (and when):
- REVOKE – This option will immediately add the “Course_Revoke_Access” tag.
- CANCEL – This option immediately adds the STOP tag. Then, at the end of the billing period, the “Course_Revoke_Access” is added.
- STOP – This option immediately adds the STOP tag. However, the “Course_Revoke_Access” tag is NOT added.
Option 2: Manually Cancel a Subscription by Adding a Tag
If a client emails into support to request a cancellation, you can set up a CRM automation so that all you have to do is apply a tag, which then triggers an automation that takes care of the cancellation process.
The benefit of using this as opposed to using “Option 1” is simply that your support team would log into the CRM platform versus your membership site to perform the cancellation.
In this case, the automation would run as follows:
- Trigger tag
- Run the Cancellation Webhook (the webhook requires a corresponding custom operation as in this tutorial). This webhook not only cancels future payments but will also apply the Course_Revoke_Access tag that is configured in the subscription/product setup.
- Optional: send out an email to the user to confirm that their subscription is canceled
Option 3: Allow Clients to Self-Cancel by Clicking a Button
Remember that it’s also possible to allow clients to perform these actions on their own (tutorial here). In this case, the available client actions correspond identically to the admin options listed above.
Note for ConvertKit: you’ll need to create this webhook using the Webhook creator.