We recommend that you include a “revoke access” automation inside your CRM for every piece of content you create on your site. You can revoke content access using an Ontraport automation. This allows you to easily re-gate your content with minimal effort.
Using a different CRM? Check out the full list of revoke access automation tutorials here.
Why would you need to revoke access?
Revoking access to site content is a natural part of doing business, and might include any of the following scenarios:
- A client cancels their membership subscription
- A client’s payment card expires and cannot be charged for the next month’s subscription
- A course student cancels and requests a refund
- A client “downgrades,” and loses partial access to the content
While you could manually apply the Revoke Access tag to a user inside AccessAlly, we recommend automating the process as a part of building out your CRM automation.
How the Revoke Access tag works
When you create your site content with AccessAlly’s Course Wizard, you’ll notice that a “Revoke Access” tag is automatically created in Step 2:
How to Add a Revoke Access Tag to Your Ontraport Automation
Open up the same campaign that you created to release access to the content.
In the welcome campaign, add a new item right before the END. The revoke operation is added to the same campaign because it will also prevent the client from receiving any unreleased modules.
Choose the GOAL item.
Add a goal for When Contact is added to Tag, and choose the Revoke Access tag.
Add a Webhook (under the Advanced tab) item to the campaign.
In SETTINGS, set the “destination URL” to your update_user webhook.
and set the “Post data” to: contactId=[Contact ID]
With all the items configured, click on Publish to make the campaign live.