1. Home
  2. AccessAlly
  3. Managing Your Membership Site
  4. User Management
  5. How to Merge AccessAlly Contacts (Infusionsoft Only)

How to Merge AccessAlly Contacts (Infusionsoft Only)

Dealing with duplicate contacts? Learn how to merge without losing their membership site permissions in the process.

When Merging a Contact May Be Necessary

The merge contact feature is only available in Infusionsoft for two reasons:

  1. Infusionsoft allows contacts with duplicate emails (so merging is more of a necessity)
  2. The Infusionsoft API provides a way to automatically merge two contacts by migrating the tags and order data
If you need to move any AccessAlly order from the to-be-deleted contact to the to-be-kept contact, please use our Modify Contact ID tool.

Using a Non-Infusionsoft CRM?

For other CRMs, merging is a more manual process. In a nutshell, it involves:

  1. Moving all applicable tags from the to-be-deleted contact to the to-be-kept contact in the CRM
  2. Add the to-be-kept contact to any relevant automation / campaign
  3. Once that is done, you can just update the to-be-kept contact in AccessAlly, so all the tags are synced.

How to Merge an Infusionsoft Contact

Step 1: Enable Feature In AccessAlly

Log into your membership site and go to: AccessAlly > General Settings > Initial Setup > Additional Features.

Step 2: Merge Contacts

Now, go to: AccessAlly > Manage Users > Merge Contacts.

Here, you can merge the contacts.

Merging via AccessAlly

This will both merge the contacts in Infusionsoft and sort out the user login / tags in AccessAlly.

Updated on February 4, 2019

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles